Poppy Fields



Megan Fox and Jennifer’s Body

This is the only photo I could find of Megan Fox that didnt totally objectify her. But maybe thats empowering for her?

This is the only photo I could find of Megan Fox that didn't totally objectify her. But maybe she finds that empowering?

I was going to write a thing about Megan Fox, and how I was confused and surprised because in a recent Entertainment Weekly article she called herself a feminist, and the reason I was confused is because it was part of this exchange:

How did you feel about being sexualized like that [by being in a bikini in the movie Bad Boys II]  when you were 15?
I thought it was awesome. I was going to a Christian high school and I wasn’t a feminist yet. I hadn’t sat back and analyzed society yet. I was 15! I just did what I was told to do.

and I didn’t know why this was actually different from what she does now — because she has analyzed it and decided it’s ok?–and how in the same article she also says this:

“I think all women in Hollywood are known as sex symbols. That’s what our purpose is in this business. You’re merchandised, you’re a product. You’re sold and it’s based on sex. But that’s okay. I think women should be empowered by that, not degraded.”

and that seems really conterintuitive to me, and I don’t really see how you can be “empowered” by being a product, but then I don’t know whether I should just be happy that a young and famous woman is calling herself feminist, since that’s so rare, but then what exactly does she think feminism is? And do I think she’s wrong? And who am I to tell her she’s wrong? And why am I seriously in an imaginary debate about feminism with a 22 year-old movie star? But then I read and saw more interviews with her and she’s kinda funny and sarcastic and she is making fun of Transformers II to the extent that super-dude director Michael Bay who’s got to be one of the grossest guys in Hollywood felt the need to retaliate by claiming full responsibility for her entire career, along with the careers of Nicholas Cage and — get this — Will Smith, and so I started to be on her side. (More on Michael Bay in a clever Bitch magazine blog post here.) And then I read a rumor that Michael Bay claimed Megan Fox’s audition for the first Transformers movie was to wash his Ferrari, and I don’t know whether to believe that, and if it’s true, whether she did this before or after she discovered feminism? And is there any possibility Michael Bay could get any more disgusting?

Will there ever be another "Ginger Snaps"? (I don't count the actual sequel.) Should I try to write it?

Will there ever be another "Ginger Snaps"? (I don't count the actual sequel.) Should I try to write it?

And then I was going to also write about how Megan Fox is in the upcoming horror film Jennifer’s Body, written by Diablo Cody, and how I have mixed feelings about Diablo Cody as well but generally I have a soft spot for her somehow and think she gets a lot of crap, possibly because she was so praised for one movie, which is not her fault, and it was a cute movie, no matter how overexposed it got or how you feel she handled the abortion issue, and how I am cautiously excited about how Jennifer’s Body looks like it could maybe, just maybe, be a new Ginger Snaps (though not as good, nothing could ever be as good), or maybe it’s just going to suck and really piss me off. But then the Bitch magazine blog beat me to it. So I didn’t write what I was going to write. But somehow it’s still here anyway.

Here’s the preview for Jennifer’s Body, if you’re interested. Thoughts?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * melanie says:

    I like this article. I have mixed feelings about this girl too. I wrote my own blog about it http://feministguidetohollywood.blogspot.com/

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Leigh says:

    Yeah.. my first impression was “wow. rip off of ginger snaps?” so many things hinted at ginger snaps. the relationship between the two main girls. the line “you do whatever jenniefer tell you to do” and the line in ginger snaps “you always do whatever ginger wants you to do” shows this perfectly. the scene where shes walking down the hall in slow mo and gives a sideways glance/smirk at someone. the second girl has a connection with a guy friend who she confides in who jennifer ends up seducing (by undoing her top) and presumabley killing. and so much more that i dont have to to write about. and thats just from the trailer! i hope when i go to see it that there are no more similarities. Ginger Snaps will always reign supreme in my books. its practically a classic

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  3. * allan mudd says:

    I don;t think she meant being empowered by being a product rather by being sexual. One of the big failures of feminism is the repression ond rejection of sexuality. When that is all you are or are perceived that is degrading but to deny your sexuality to me ois counter-intuitive and repressive.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 12 months ago
    • * drpoppy says:

      The idea that feminism rejects or “represses” sexuality is old. Most feminists today firmly believe that women have every right to express desire, and that sexuality is a powerful thing. However, at the same time, the whole “I choooooose to be sexxxxy” thing is also tired. I simply don’t think that being a sexual person and being a sex object are the same thing.

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  4. * matt says:

    I think what she meant was that she controls her image and how it’s used more now than she did at 15. We all have to crawl sometimes, but look what she has to show for it; a small fortune, fame, and upward mobility. She is thinking more, and that is always good. Worrying however, about things we have no control over or effect on (like Megan Fox’s idea of feminism), is not always helpful. I think you could aim your intellect towards more productive pursuits. Smart people are rare… they should focus that on usefulness, not idle discussions of Hollywood actresses and their ideology. Then again… to each her own.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
    • * drpoppy says:

      Hey, thanks for the compliment about being smart; I honestly appreciate it. However, since this is my blog, I reserve the right to have as many “idle” discussions as I want. Believe me, I’m pretty damn productive most of the time; I think it’s ok to write about something frivolous once in a while. I don’t really need any advice on what I “should” care about.

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  5. * bodrum says:

    I Love You Megan Fox 🙂

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
    • * drpoppy says:

      Well said.

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  6. * michael says:

    why don’t you correct the aspect ratio of the image its be squeezed to width 191px and height 194px in the html of this page you need to leave the width at 191px and make the height 261px do this in the admin for this page in word press where you put the image in.

    I thought this might help as the image is not doing the article any justice as it is.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
    • * drpoppy says:

      Ok.

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 4 months ago
  7. * Reya says:

    “I simply don’t think that being a sexual person and being a sex object are the same thing”

    I like that.

    Megan Fox probably categorizes herself as a sexual person that uses the willingness for it to be showcased as an opportunity for advancement. feminists recognize the objectification used on megan, but expecting her to prevent a deeply embedded tendency towards the objectification of attractive women at the cost of her career is asking much. most feminists I know live with subtle contradictions to their ideology. a sacrifice to societal demands in my case.

    that she’s known for what she says and for stressing her intelligence offsets her sexed up image. it seems as if she’s made a conscious effort not to be a one-dimensional sex object. that’s admirable.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
  8. * Cait says:

    I get what she’s saying about objectification being empowering to an extent. Because it’s like, how much time and money and thought do men put into sexual fantasies about women? A fucking lot. So, to be able to extract all that time, money, and thought just because of two stupid little fat deposits on your chest is, without a doubt, a very powerful thing. Is it taking advantage? Yes. But that’s what objectification does to women in the first place, and if there’s going to be objectification of women (which there sadly is), you might as well deal with it, and flip it around on males so that you can profit off of it, instead of blatantly saying “I refuse to be objectified!” and then have a group of moronic males like Michael Bay just laugh at you and walk off with all the power anyway. Being objectified as a woman is an unconscious transference of male power into female power, if you learn to use it correctly. If you are a decent looking girl and you go out to the bar and work it, there are nights you won’t have to ever open your wallet. As a feminist, I prefer to pay, but the point is, most men could never pull off having even one drink paid for by the opposite sex. Most women can pull off having most of their drinks paid for if they play it up. I’m not saying I revel in the fact that when I go out I spend roughly an eternity longer transforming into man’s fucking ideal pretty pretty princess; it’s bullshit, but I know it’s bullshit. So, I take all of these silly male fantasies with a grain of salt, but I still wear them the best I can, because pretty pretty princess or not, most males are going to either consciously or hopefully unconsciously look down on me for not having a penis, so I might as well physically feed into their bullshit while not actually mentally buying into it, and gain from it what I can. I mean look at Sarah Palin; she may possibly be the dumbest human being and worst female role model since…well, she may take the cake, actually, but the fact that she’s a tad more feminine than Hilary Clinton propelled her to strange and undeserved heights. Now, imagine a woman who looked like Sarah Palin, but had the mind of Ayn Rand or Simone De Beauvoir;her looks would draw people in and provide a facade of her not being much of a threat to power, but behind the facade would be the brains and the power to create change and more power. Everyone writes off Megan Fox as being super hot and super dumb, but she is no Sarah Palin. The more I read her interviews, the more I like her because what comes off to a lot of readers as bitchiness, comes off to me as sheer, blatant honesty about a lot of things; human nature, the business, the people in the business, who she is in this business, and who she means to be. She clearly knows her strengths and is using them to her advantage. The one thing that gets me about feminism in general is that many feminists seem to have this idea that they want to achieve equality without most of their femininity; the boobs, the flirting, the make-up–the neutral way. While this is completely understandable, the problem with this is that the neutral way isn’t the neutral way at all because we live in emasculated society, so the “respectable,” “neutral” way, is actually just the man way. And yes, the man way is the most respected way, but it shouldn’t be. The man way and the woman way should have equal weight and respect. The problem here is that the “woman” way is also, naturally tainted with the man way in our culture because most ideas of beauty and femininity and female-ness come from the male mind. So what is a self-respecting woman to do in order to gain respect and power? How can we do things the real woman way? Well, if evolution tells us anything, the way most females attain power is to play off the weaknesses of males, and to choose wisely. In bonobo chimps, female are the leaders and keep control by calming down the competitive males with sex. Sex in bonobos also strengthens bonds and is a form of peaceful coercion. In most other female primates, women are constantly “using” men for their resources–most male primates who are lacking in resources will have trouble finding a mate. Also in some human and many non-human primates, females will often have sex with whatever male approaches just to avoid conflict, i.e. getting beaten up or causing social conflict. This may appear to be a submissive act, however, females are tricky in this way because although they will mate with most males that approach, this is simply a form of appeasement–females can usually sense when they are fertile and when they are not, so they will have sex with anyone, but will do so purposefully when they are infertile, and save sex with the males THEY desire for when they are actually fertile. In this way they give the illusion of weakness, but biologically have the secret upper hand. It is predominantly true that men have the upper hand on blatant and physical power, but it seems that our male-based society doesn’t recognize the forms of power females do hold. This may all sound conniving and “bitchy,” and remind one of the human primate “gold-diggers” but that again is very possibly because we live in a male-based culture and are unconsciously being fed the message that most things females do to attain any kind of respect or power is wrong. So, I say, if typical male, or insecure female calls you a bitch, you’re probably doing a good job in life. I also just want to add that I guess this comment had a lot of anti-male-ish sounding things in it. I just want to clarify I don’t think men are worse than women or that they all are ignorant or uncaring about female issues, but this is a male-based society, and most males I personally come across are not very keen to women’s issues. Sadly, I think there are many males who genuinely want to think of women as equals and think they think of women as equals, but there is just so much unconscious anti-female b.s. in our culture that a lot of well-meaning males say and think things that are not always pro-equality. At the end of the day, to each our own.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

